Taking Yourself Seriously: A Fieldbook of Processes of Research and Engagement

A book of tools and processes to help readers in all fields develop as researchers, writers, workshop facilitators, and agents of change
TYS2cover
Purchases. More details

Impact of the tools and processes in the book:
“I was able to get engaged in a project that I was able to actually use in work, which was extremely satisfying. The whole process encouraged me, and I felt very empowered as a change agent, which could be an exhilarating feeling.” Healthcare professional and story-teller

“I really had not been used to thinking about my own thinking, so learning to do that also helped me to slow down and start to look away from the career path that I had been taking for granted.” Biologist-turned-web designer

“I found that my experience in the courses helped me to accept feedback from other professionals. I am more comfortable with listening to why my own ideas might not work or need further evaluation. This even happens to the point where I find reasons now to seek out this kind of feedback.” Teacher

“I had viewed research as a process of collecting information into a sort of database and reviewing it effectively. I have now revised my notions to include a more broad understanding of interconnectedness between people and ideas. An important part of research is to keep relationships going.”Adult educator

“Many of the strategies employed to bring our little company together so deeply, so quickly, could well be applied in the classroom to build a community of trust and support from its earliest days.” College professor

“I’ve changed. I’ve changed on all levels. On a political level. Work level. Personal level. Professional level. And it has been a positive change… I have an infrastructure in my brain, so I know what I am doing now when I am with people, when I work in groups.” Translator

“Most workshops are dysfunctional–this one wasn’t” Participant in science-in-society workshop

Leave a comment